DISTRIBUTION

BROADCAST TELEVISION
The following are our confirmed public television airdates, by city:

UPCOMING AIRDATES

  • WHYY-12, Philadelphia, PA -- Tue 8-12-03, 9 pm
  • WHYY-12, Philadelphia, PA -- Thu 8-14-03, 2 am
  • WDPB-64, Seaford, DE -- Tue 8-12-03, 9 pm
  • WDPB-64, Seaford, DE -- Tue 8-12-03, 2 am

PAST AIRDATES

  • WEBA, Allendale, SC -- Thu 6-21-01, 10 pm
  • WLVT, Allentown, PA -- Wed 6-27-01, 2 pm; repeat Sun, 5-4-03, 2 pm
  • KTNE, Alliance, NE -- Wed 7-4-01, 9 pm
  • KETG, Arkadelphia, AR -- Sun 4-29-01, 3 pm; repeat Wed, 5-9-01, 8 pm
  • WKAS, Ashland, KY -- Sat 8-4-01, 1 pm; repeat Fri 6-6-03, 12 am
  • WPBA, Atlanta, GA -- Thu 5-17-01, 11 pm
  • KLRU-2, Austin, TX -- Wed 5-9-01, 8 pm; repeat Wed 9-12-01, 8pm; Tue 5-21-02, 11 am
  • WJWJ, Beaufort, SC -- Thu 6-21-01, 10 pm
  • KNCT, Belton, TX -- Wed 5-23-01, 8 pm; repeat Tue 1-29-01, 12pm
  • KOAB-3, Bend, OR -- Sun 8-26-01, 2 pm; repeat Sun 9-8-02, 2pm; Tue 3-25-03, 3 am
  • KBME-3, Bismarck, ND -- Sun 1-12-03, 4 pm
  • WGBX, Boston, MA -- Fri 6-15-01, 10 pm
  • WGBH, Boston, MA -- Fri 6-21-01, 1 am
  • WKGB, Bowling Green, KY -- Sat 8-4-01, 1 pm; Fri 6-6-03, 12 am
  • WNED, Buffalo, NY -- Wed 10-3-01, 11:30 pm
  • WNJS, Camden, NJ -- Thu 6-21-01, 9 pm
  • WITV, Charleston, SC -- Thu 6-21-01, 10 pm
  • WTVI-42, Charlotte, NC -- Sun 11-3-02, 10:30 pm; repeat Sun 7-13-03, 4:00 pm
  • WTCI, Chattanooga, TN -- Tue 5-1-01, 2 pm; repeat Wed, 11 pm
  • WYCC, Chicago, IL -- Fri 5-4-01, 8 pm; repeat Mon 5-7-01, 9 pm
  • KIXE, Chico, CA -- Wed 7-4-01, 2 pm
  • KRSC, Claremore, OK -- Sat 5-12-01, 7 pm; repeat Wed 8-8-01, 8 pm
  • WPSX, Clearfield, PA -- Sun 5-6-01, 6 pm
  • WRLK, Columbia, SC -- Thu 6-21-01, 10 pm
  • WHMC, Conway, SC -- Thu 6-21-01, 10 pm
  • WCTE, Cookeville, TN -- Sat 4-14-01, 7 pm
  • KEDT, Corpus Christi, TX -- Sun 4-22-01, 11 pm
  • KOAC-7, Corvallis, OR -- Sun 8-26-01, 2 pm; repeat Sun 9-8-02, 2 pm; Tue 3-25-03, 3 am
  • WCVN, Covington, KY -- Sat 8-4-01, 1 pm; repeat Fri 6-6-03, 12 am
  • WPTD, Dayton, OH -- Thu 5-31-01, 11 pm; repeat Wed, 7-18-01, 11 am
  • KDTN, Denton, TX -- Thu 6-14-01, 8 pm
  • KRMA, Denver, CO -- Sun 4-22-01, 9 am
  • KDSE-9, Dickinson, ND -- Sun 1-12-03, 4 pm
  • WKZT, Elizabethtown, KY -- Sat 8-4-01, 1 pm; repeat Fri 6-6-03, 12 am
  • KJRE-19, Ellendale, ND -- Sun 1-12-03, 4 pm
  • KEPB-28, Eugene, OR -- Sun 8-26-01, 2 pm; repeat Sun 9-8-02, 2 pm; ue 3-25-03, 3 am
  • KEET, Eureka, CA -- Tue 3-12-02, 11:30 am; repeat Wed 3-13-01, 4 pm; Mon 8-12-02, 8 pm; Wed 8-14-02, 11:30 am
  • WNIN, Evansville, IN -- Fri 6-22-01, 1 pm
  • WEDW, Fairfield, CT -- Sun 4-29-01, 6 pm; repeat Sun 8-26-01, 12pm
  • KFME-13, Fargo, ND -- Sun 1-12-03, 4 pm
  • WJPM, Florence, SC -- Thu 6-21-01, 10 pm
  • KAFT, Ft. Smith, AR -- Sun 4-29-01, 3 pm; repeat Wed, 5-9-01, 8 pm
  • WFWA-39, Fort Wayne, IN -- Tue 8-13-02, 9 pm
  • WVPY, Front Royal, VA -- Sun 4-22-01, 2 pm
  • KGFE-2, Grand Forks, ND -- Sun 1-12-03, 4 pm
  • KRMJ, Grand Junction, CO -- Sun 4-22-01, 9 am
  • WGVU, Grand Rapids, MI -- Sun 7-8-01, 5pm
  • WGVK, Grand Rapids, MI -- Sun 7-8-01, 5pm
  • WNTV, Greenville, SC -- Thu 6-21-01, 10 pm
  • WNEH, Greenwood, SC -- Thu 6-21-01, 10 pm
  • WITF, Harrisburg, PA -- Thu 5-31-01, 2 pm
  • WVPT, Harrisonburg, VA -- Sun 4-22-01, 2 pm
  • WEDH, Hartford, CT -- Sun 4-29-01, 6 pm; Sun 8-26-01, 12pm; Sun 5-26-02, 2 pm
  • KHNE, Hastings, NE -- Wed 7-4-01, 9 pm
  • WHKA, Hazard, KY -- Sat 8-4-01, 1 pm; repeat Fri 6-6-03, 12 am
  • KHET, Honolulu, HI -- Sat 4-14-01, 8:30 pm
  • KMEB, Honolulu, HI -- Sat 4-14-01, 8:30 pm
  • KUHT, Houston, TX -- Sun 6-17-01, 4 pm
  • KOCE, Huntington Beach, CA -- Wed 4-18-01, 9 pm
  • WJCT, Jacksonville, FL -- Sun 6-3-01, 2 pm
  • KTEJ, Jonesboro, AR -- Sun 4-29-01, 3 pm; repeat Wed 5-9-01, 8pm
  • KOZJ, Joplin, MO -- Tue 4-17-01, 10 pm
  • KYNE, Kearney, NE -- Wed 7-4-01, 9 pm
  • WKMJ, KET-2 (approx. 10 ptv cable stations in Kentucky) -- Thu 5-31-01, 10 pm
  • KTVR-13, La Grande, OR -- Sun 8-26-01, 2 pm; repeat Sun 9-8-02, 2 pm; Tue 3-25-03, 3 am
  • KRWG, Las Cruces, NM -- Sun 4-29-01, 4 pm
  • KLVX, Las Vegas, NV -- Sun 5-6-01, 2 pm
  • WKLE, Lexington, KY -- Sat 8-4-01, 1 pm; repeat Fri 6-6-03, 12 am
  • KLNE, Lexington, NE -- Wed 7-4-01, 9 pm
  • WBGU, Lima, OH -- Sun 6-17-01, 1 pm
  • KUON, Lincoln, NE -- Wed 7-4-01, 9 pm
  • KETS, Little Rock, AR -- Sun 4-29-01, 3 pm; repeat Wed, 5-9-01, 8 pm
  • KLCS, Los Angeles, CA -- Sat 5-19-01, 9 am; repeat Sat, 6-9-01, 9 am
  • KCET, Los Angeles, CA -- Thu 5-31-01, 10 pm; repeat Sun, 5-26-02, 4 pm
  • WKPC, Louisville, KY -- Sat 8-4-01, 1 pm; repeat Fri 6-6-03, 12 am
  • WKMA, Madisonville, KY -- Sat 8-4-01, 1 pm; repeat Fri 6-6-03, 12 am
  • WMSY, Marion, VA -- Tue 5-29-01, 8 pm; repeat Sun 8-5-01, 6 am
  • WNMU, Marquette, MI -- Sun 5-6-01, 4 pm
  • WKNO, Memphis, TN -- Sat 7-7-01, 7 pm
  • WYIN, Merrillville, IN -- Wed 4-18-01, 7 pm; repeat Fri 5-18-01, 9pm; Thu, 8-23-01, 9pm; Sat, 8-25-01, 1:30pm
  • KRNE, Merriman, NE -- Wed 7-4-01, 9 pm
  • WPBT, Miami, FL -- Sat 4-21-01, 5 pm; repeat Sun 9-9-01, 4pm
  • WLRN-17, Miami, FL -- Sat 4-28-01, 3 pm; repeat Wed 10-30-02, 10 pm
  • WMVS, Milwaukee, WI -- Wed 5-2-01, 9 pm
  • WMVT, Milwaukee, WI -- Sun 6-10-01, 9 am and 10 pm
  • KSRE-6, Minot, ND -- Sun 1-12-03, 4 pm
  • WNJN, Montclair, NJ -- Thu 6-21-01, 9 pm
  • WKMR, Morehead, KY -- Sat 8-4-01, 1 pm; repeat Fri 6-6-03, 12 am
  • KEMV, Mountain View, AR -- Sun 4-29-01, 3 pm; repeat Wed, 5-9-01, 8 pm
  • WIPB, Muncie, IN -- Mon 7-1-01, 11 pm
  • WKMU, Murray, KY -- Sat 8-4-01, 1 pm; repeat Fri 6-6-03, 12 am
  • WNPT, Nashville, TN -- Sat 7-7-01, 6 pm; repeat Fri 1-18-02, 11pm
  • WNJB, New Brunswick, NJ -- Thu 6-21-01, 9 pm
  • WEDY, New Haven, CT -- Sun 4-29-01, 6 pm; repeat Sun 8-26-01, 10pm; Sun 5-26-02, 4 pm
  • WLAE, New Orleans, LA -- Sat 8-18-01, 10:30 pm
  • WYES, New Orleans, LA -- Fri 5-4-01, 9 pm; repeat Sun, 7-15-01, noon; Sat 4-13-02, 11pm
  • WNET, New York, NY -- Sun 5-13-01, noon
  • WHRO, Norfolk, VA -- Sat 6-9-01, 5 pm
  • WSBN, Norton, VA -- Tue 5-29-01, 8 pm; repeat Sun 8-5-01, 6 am
  • WEDN, Norwich, CT -- Sun 4-29-01, 6 pm; repeat Sun 8-26-01, 12pm
  • KYNE, Omaha, NE -- Wed 7-4-01, 9 pm
  • WMFE, Orlando, FL -- Thu 5-17-01, 11 pm
  • WKOH, Owensboro, KY -- Sat 8-4-01, 1 pm; repeat Fri 6-6-03, 12 am
  • WKON, Owenton, KY -- Sat 8-4-01, 1 pm; repeat Fri 6-6-03, 12 am
  • WPTO, Oxford, OH -- Tue 4-24-01, 4 pm; repeat Wed, 10 pm
  • WKPD, Paducah, KY -- Sat 8-4-01, 1 pm; repeat Fri 6-6-03, 12 am
  • WTVP, Peoria, IL -- Sat 4-21-01, 6 pm
  • WYBE-35, Philadelphia, PA -- Wed 8-21-02, 10 pm; Sat 8-24-02 4 am
  • WKPI, Pikeville, KY -- Sat 8-4-01, 1 pm; repeat Fri 6-6-03, 12 am
  • WLIW, Plainview, NY -- Tue 6-26-01, 10 pm
  • KOPB-10, Portland, OR -- Sun 8-26-01, 2 pm; repeat Sun 9-8-02, 2 pm; Tue 3-25-03, 3 am
  • WSBE, Providence, RI -- Sun 5-27-01, 10 am; repeat 9 pm
  • KTSC, Pueblo, CO -- Sun 4-22-01, 9 am
  • WBRA, Roanoke, VA -- Tue 5-29-01, 8 pm; repeat Sun 8-5-01, 6 am
  • WXXI, Rochester, NY -- Mon 7-23-01, 4 am
  • WNSC, Rock Hill, SC -- Thu 6-21-01, 10 pm
  • KVIE, Sacramento, CA -- Mon 6-18-01, 11 pm; repeat Wed, 3 am
  • TPT17, St. Paul, MN -- Thu 10-4-01, 8 pm; repeat Tue 1-22-01, 10 pm
  • KQED, Salinas, CA -- Sun 7-14-02, 6 pm
  • KULC, Salt Lake City, UT -- Tue 5-8-01, 7 pm; repeat Sat 5-12-01, 11 pm; Tue 8-21-01, 8pm; Sat 8-25-01, 6pm; Mon 8-19-02, 9 pm
  • KLRN, San Antonio, TX -- Mon 4-16-01, 10 pm; repeat Sat 4-21-01, midnight
  • KVCR, San Bernardino, CA -- Wed 5-23-01, 9 pm; repeat Thu 9-27-01, midnight
  • KPBS, San Diego, CA -- Wed 3-14-01, 8 pm; repeat Wed 7-11-01, 10pm
  • KTEH-54, San Jose, CA -- Thu 6-14-01, 9 pm; repeat Wed 5-28-03, 1 am
  • KQED, San Francisco, CA -- Fri 4-20-01, 10 pm; repeat Sat 4-21-01, 1 am; Fri 8-3-01, 10pm; Sun 7-14-02, 6 pm
  • KQED-DT, San Francisco, CA -- Fri 4-20-01, 10 pm; repeat Sat 4-21-01, 1 am; Fri 8-3-01, 10pm
  • KCSM, San Mateo, CA -- Thu 8-23-01, 11 pm
  • KCTS, Seattle, WA -- Thu 7-11-02, 8 pm; repeat Mon, 1 am
  • KPNE, Scottbluff, NE -- Wed 7-4-01, 9 pm
  • WKSO, Somerset, KY -- Sat 8-4-01, 1 pm; repeat Fri 6-6-03, 12 am
  • WRET, Spartanburg, SC -- Thu 6-21-01, 10 pm
  • WILL, Springfield, IL -- Sat 6-30-01, 3 pm
  • WGBY, Springfield, MA -- Tue 5-1-01, 2 pm; repeat Sun 9-30-01, 4pm; Mon 5-13-02, 2 pm
  • KOZK, Springfield, MO -- Tue 4-17-01, 10 pm
  • WRJA, Sumter, SC -- Thu 6-21-01, 10 pm
  • WUSF, Tampa, FL -- Thu 5-17-01, 4 am; repeat Mon, 6-25-01, 1 pm; Thu 5-2-02, 2 pm; Tue 10-15-02, 12 am
  • WGTE, Toledo, OH -- Sat 6-2-01, 3 pm
  • WNJT, Trenton, NJ -- Thu 6-21-01, 9 pm
  • KUAT, Tucson, AZ -- Sun 8-12-01, daytime; repeat Sat 3-16-02, 11pm; Sun 3-17-02, 10:30am
  • KUAS, Tucson, AZ -- Sun 8-12-01, daytime; repeat Sat 3-16-02, 11pm; Sun 3-17-02, 10:30am
  • KWBU, Waco, TX -- Sun 6-10-01, 4 pm
  • WETA, Washington, DC -- Wed 4-11-01, 11 pm
  • WHUT-32, Washington, DC -- Tue 5-14-02, 8 pm; repeat Sun 8-11-02, 5 pm; Sun 12-29-02, 3 pm
  • WXEL, West Palm Beach, FL -- Sat 4-14-01, 8 pm; repeat Wed 4-18-01, 4 pm; Sun 4-14-02, 5am
  • KWSE-4, Williston, ND -- Sun 1-12-03, 4 pm
Current as of August 1, 2003. These air dates are subject to change. Please consult your local TV listings.

SFL will be broadcast to public television by American Public Television (APT) with KQED-TV in San Francisco as presenting station.

The documentary is being distributed to educational markets by Terra Nova Films, the country's top media distributor specializing in issues of aging and health. The film is distributed to surf shops through Surf Video Network and to foreign television buyers through CS Associates.

FESTIVAL SCREENINGS. In its first international film festival, SFL won top honors at the 1999 Hawai'i International Film Festival, winning the Golden Maile Award for Best Documentary and the Blockbuster Audience Award while selling out nine screenings on four islands. The documentary has played in 21 international film festivals and has won nine awards.

Awards and Screenings

  • 2003 Santa Cruz Film Festival (Best Documentary)
  • Hawai'i International Film Festival (Golden Maile for Best Documentary, Blockbuster Audience Award)
  • Malibu International Film Festival, Best Documentary
  • WorldFest Houston (Honorable Mention)
  • Big Bear Lake International Film Festival (Audience Choice)
  • Columbus International Film Festival (Honorable Mention)
  • Time Inc. Health and Medical Media Awards (Finalist)
  • San Jose Joey Awards (Joey Award)
  • Telluride IndieFest Film Festival (Honorable Mention)

  • San Diego International Film Festival
  • Tahoe International Film Festival
  • Athens International Film Festival
  • Big Muddy Film Festival
  • Hot Springs Documentary Film Festival
  • Silver Images Film Festival
  • Palm Springs International Film Festival
  • Long Beach International Film Festival
  • Wine Country Film Festival
  • New York International Independent Film Festival
  • Palm Beach International Film Festival
  • Bangkok International Film Festival
  • Fort Myers Beach Film Festival
  • Santa Barbara International Film Festival

THEATRICAL. The documentary has been transferred to film and, beginning at the Roxie Cinema in San Francisco, has screened in theaters in over 40 cities throughout the country. The longest theatrical run of the film was 16 weeks at the Rafael Film Center in San Rafael, California. Most of the theatrical screenings have been benefits for non-profit organizations including Family Service Agency of San Francisco and the Surfrider Foundation.

HEALTHY AGING FORUMS. Through a grant from the California Endowment, we have completed the SFL Discussion Guide (shortened version downloadable on this site) and we are organizing Healthy Aging Forums throughout the state of California. These Forums will use screenings of the film along with the Discussion Guide to generate discussions on the issues of successful aging raised in the film. The principal target organizations are senior service agencies and health and gerontology education programs.

 

SURFING FOR LIFE

the surfers

the filmmakers

distribution

critical acclaim

history of surfing

hawaiian culture

making of SFL

on 'the age wave'

discussion guide



Please see our DVD, poster, and T-Shirt page to order your copy of SURFING FOR LIFE